A Comforting Passage

”Do not withhold your mercy from me Lord;
may Your love and faithfulness always protect us.
For troubles without numbers surround me;
my sins have overtaken me, and I cannot see.
They are more than the hairs of my head.
And my heart fails me.
Be please to save me Lord.
Come quickly, Lord, to help me.” Psalm 40:11 – 13
These passages need no explanation. The author has no fear to tell God what he wants or needs. He fears trouble and yet recognizes his own sin given his trouble. And again the author says he is in a bad way. I can’t help from thinking back on so many situations in my own life that was so overwhelming that I felt death might be an answer or the only answer to help me escape the pain. In this Psalm the author paints a picture of being trapped by his trouble and his own sin yet he tells God what he needs and to come quickly and help. He speaks to God as if he has been through this trouble before and he speaks as if there is no doubt his Lord our Lord can and well help. This passage reminds me so much of Hebrews 4:16 Where the Hebrew author tells us all to approach God’s Throne with confidence knowing that God will help us in our time of need. We are told we will receive mercy and grace in or time of need. A wonderful promise. He does not ask what we did or did not do but tells us to come in our time of need and again to approach His Throne in confidence.

Corky Riley October 31, 2014

Leave a Reply

